Local news

Two party-hopping MPs quit in prelude to 40-plus others


By Thai Newsroom Reporters

TWO MPs HAVE RESIGNED ahead of dozens of others who will follow suit very shortly, given a shared intent to contest the next general election under the tickets of the Bhumjaithai Party.

House Speaker Chuan Leekpai confirmed today (Dec.14) that Detthawee Sriwichai has resigned as Thai Liberal MP of Lampang whilst Nan Boonthida Somchai has quit as Democrat MP of Ubon Ratchathani, leaving behind 471 MPs in the House of Representatives.

Both former lawmakers whose resignation has immediately deprived themselves of their MP status were known to have planned to join the Bhumjaithai, steered by de facto party boss Newin Chidchob, whilst 40-plus others are reportedly jumping onto the bandwagon of the second largest coalition partner in a shared effort to seek reelection under their new partisan banners.

Those “renegade” legislators on either side of the House chamber aisle who are scheduled to leave their current parties by today or tomorrow at the latest so that they will show up at the Bhumjaithai headquarters on Friday include 14 Palang Pracharath MPs, 10 Pheu Thai MPs, five Move Forward MPs and three Thai Economic MPs, among others.

The resignation of any MPs which may be openly announced during a 180-day period ahead of March 24, the date on which the current House’s four-year term is scheduled to end, warrants no by-election to find replacements for them.

Meanwhile, the Bhumjaithai camp has reportedly looked to  steal a number of northeastern constituencies among others from the largest opposition Pheu Thai, guided by de facto party boss/former prime minister Thaksin Shinawatra, in the general election anticipated early next year.

Though Newin has earlier confirmed that Bhumjaithai Party leader Anutin Charnvirakul will be pitted during the party’s electoral campaigns as candidate for prime minister, it remains to be seen whether he might finally offer to endorse another person for the top post of government regardless of the number of elected MP seats which his camp may grab in the nationwide election.


Top: Bhumjaithai Party head office. Photo: INN News

Insert: House Speaker Chuan Leekpai announcing the resignation of the two MPs today. Photo: Matichon

Front Page: De facto Bhumjaithai Party boss Newin Chidchob. Photo: Manager Online

Also read: Only one-third of party-hopping MPs to get reelected: Chonlanan

40-plus coalition, opposition MPs to hop over to Bhumjaithai shortly

Push to dissolve Bhumjaithai Party over free-marijuana campaign

Prayut shrugs off remarks on leaving Prawit’s camp

Mingkwan likely to be one of three Palang Pracharath PM candidates

Prayut finally confirms aim to prolong rule for another 2 years

Analysis: Thaksin’s homecoming bid may fall through without help from kingmaker

Prawit tipped to get more votes than any others for PM

Most Esaan constituents prefer Thaksin’s daughter for PM: Poll

Pheu Thai Party disagrees with bid to dissolve Palang Pracharath Party

Thaksin encourages Prayut to live out House term, then go home for good


3 Replies to “Two party-hopping MPs quit in prelude to 40-plus others

Leave a Reply