Local news

Court rules Prayut’s eight-year term has not ended

THE Constitutional Court ruled at 3 p.m. today (Sept. 30) that Prime Minister Prayut Chan-o-cha has not yet completed eight years in power maximumly provided by law with his term having started when the current constitution was promulgated on April 6, 2017, Naewna newspaper said.

The verdict was passed by a majority of 6 to 3 votes.

This ruling means Prayut has been legally allowed to assume the top government post until 2025.

The six judges who voted in favour of Prayut’s term not having ended are  1.Mr. Worawit Kangsasithiam 2.Mr. Panya Udchanchon 3.Mr. Udom Sitthiwiratham 4.Mr. Jiraniti Havanon 5.Mr. Banjongsak Wongparat, and 6.Mr. Wirun Saengthien.

The three judges voting that his term has ended are: 1.Mr. Nakarin Mektrairat, 2.Mr. Taweekiat Meenakanit, and 3.Mr. Nopadol Theppitak.


Top: Prime Minister Prayut Chan-o-cha next to the Constitutional Court logo. Photo: Matichon

Below: The nine Constitutional Court judges. Photo: Naewna

Also read: Prayut verdict: Constitution Court imposes strict control till Oct. 3 morning

Prawit dismisses fears of pro-Prayut vs anti-Prayut protesters clashing

No coup taking place, says Defence Ministry spokesman

Thaksin wonders if Prawit would be happy with Prayut’s possible comeback

Minister warns activists not to move on Prayut verdict day

Prayut no longer politically righteous to come back: Academics

Prawit downplays ‘Pheu Thai landslide’ win in Roi Et local contest

Petchaboon provincial head faces election ban over latest Prawit billboard 

Santi denies party-hopping rumours


One Reply to “Court rules Prayut’s eight-year term has not ended

Leave a Reply