PM: No lockdown but country divided into four risk zones

PRIME Minister Prayut Chan-o-cha decided at a meeting of the Centre for Covid-19 Situation Administration (CCSA) to not lockdown the country after the new outbreak spread out from a shrimp market in Samut Sakhon province but instead divided the country into four zones according to risk status, Amarin TV reported this afternoon (Dec. 24, 2020).

Details of the four zones are as follows:

RED ZONE: This area requires the highest level surveillance and there is only one province in it – Samut Sakhon – where there are many infected people.

Opening and closing hours of necessary establishments will be fixed with those that could spread Covid-19 being closed.

Foreign workers are strictly forbidden from moving in and out of this zone. There will be strict control of vehicles and Thai people entering and leaving the zone without significantly affecting trade and industry. There will be screening stations and checkpoints set up and patrols mounted to ensure effective access control. Work from home to be used to the fullest.

ORANGE ZONE: This covers Bangkok (only the west side), Samut Sakhon, Ratchaburi and Nakhon Pathom with these areas either being adjacent to the Red Zone or have more than 10 infected people and there is a tendency for the number of cases to rise.

People in this zone should avoid organizing any type of activities that involve a large number of people. Establishments and factories should focus on Covid-19 prevention measures as set by CCSA both within the factory and the workers’ accommodation. Those that do not proceed as ordered by CCSA face closure.

People in this zone should watch out for illegal workers entering the area and if they spot any should notify the police.

YELLOW ZONE: This covers Saraburi, Samut Prakan, Suphanburi, Nonthaburi, Pathum Thani, Uttaradit, Chachoengsao, Kamphaeng Phet, Phetchabun, Ayutthaya, Phuket, Phetchaburi, Nakhon Ratchasima, Prachinburi, Krabi, Khon Kaen, Chainat, Udon Thani, Phichit, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Surat Thani, Prachuap Khiri Khan, Chaiyaphum, Nakhon Sawan and Angthong provinces. This zone has less than 10 infected people and the situation is likely to come under control.

GREEN ZONE: This covers provinces where there are no infected people and the area has yet to be infected with there being no indication that there will be an infection. It covers all the provinces not mentioned in the first three zones.


Top: Prime Minister Prayut Chan-o-cha. Thai headline says, “Four-zone measure for risky areas.” Photo: Amarin TV


TNR staff
I am veteran journalist and part of’s editorial team. We are working hard at making this news site a success and value the support of each and every reader

Leave a Reply