Local news

Another minister quits as shakeup draws closer

By Thai Newsroom Reporters

PRIME MINISTER’S Office Minister Tewan Liptapallop stepped down today (July 20) in the face of an imminent cabinet reshuffle.

The resignation of Tewan, leader of the three-MPs Chart Pattana Party, followed last week’s resignation of four cabinet members of the so-called Si Kumarn faction, which was previously part of the ruling Palang Pracharath Party.

Those who had earlier called it quits from the Prayut cabinet included Somkid Jatusripitak as deputy prime minister, Uttama Savanayana as finance minister, Sontirat Sontijirawat as energy minister and Suvit Maesincee as higher education, science, research and innovation minister.


Industry Minister Suriya Juangroongruangkit, leader of the so-called Sam Mit faction in the Palang Pracharath Party, is reportedly looking to take the ministerial seat of energy in place of Sontirat.

Deputy Prime Minister/Palang Pracharath Party leader Prawit Wongsuwon remained tight-lipped when asked about favorite cabinet seats for his partisan colleagues, saying it all will depend on Prime Minister Prayut Chan-o-cha.


Top: Tewan Liptapallop, centre, surrounded by reporters recently. Photo: His Facebook page

TNR staff
I am veteran journalist and part of ThaiNewsroom.com’s editorial team. We are working hard at making this news site a success and value the support of each and every reader

Leave a Reply