Curfew only remains in 7 provinces; Bangkok a ‘blue zone’ to receive tourists


THE Centre for Covid-19 Situation Administration (CCSA) executive committee has cancelled curfew in all but seven provinces still remaining the maximum and strict control zone (dark red) with Bangkok, Krabi, Phang Nga and Phuket coming under a new blue tourism pilot scheme zone with this effective from Monday Nov. 1, said this afternoon (Oct. 29).

Dr. Taweesin Visanuyothin,CCSA’s spokesman, said Prime Minister Prayut Chan-o-cha approved these changes at a meeting this morning.

From Monday Nov. 1 people in the four blue zone provinces will be able to drink alcoholic beverages in restaurants and pubs but specific measures still apply to each province, particularly Bangkok.

The seven provinces where the 11 p.m. to 3 a.m. curfew remains in place are Chanthaburi, Tak, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Narathiwat, Pattani, Yala and Songkhla.

It was also decided to adjust other Covid-19 control zones with provinces in the maximum control zone (red) increased from 30 to 38; those in the control zone (orange) reduced from 24 to 23; provinces in the high surveillance zone (yellow) increased to five while the surveillance zone (green) was cancelled.

Meanwhile the Public Health Ministry also said that there were 8,968 coronavirus cases 64 deaths in 24 hours to this morning with this taking the cumulative confirmed total since April 1 to 1,865,078 and from the onset of the pandemic 1,893,941.

The additional 64 fatalities raised the death toll to 19,070.

Another 8,747 patients were cured taking total recoveries since April to 1,748,144 with 99,301 still undergoing treatment.


Top: A boat heading for Wat Pho and Banglamphu. Photo: Joaquin Uy (CC BY 2.0)

Home Page: A beautiful resort at Phang Nga. Photo:


2 Replies to “Curfew only remains in 7 provinces; Bangkok a ‘blue zone’ to receive tourists

Leave a Reply