Local news

New traffic alert as protesters move to set up camp at Govt House

A NEW traffic alert was issued this morning (March 13) after the starting point of the “Walk Through the Sky V.2” protest march was moved from Victory Monument to Democracy Monument with the destination being the Government House where the demonstrators plan to set up a protest “village,” Sanook.com said.

As announced on social media, the march is to start at 2 p.m. with participants told to bring along necessities for overnight stay such as tents, pillows, blankets, clothing and other personal items.

The protesters are pushing for the writing of a people’s constitution and the opening of an arena for discussions.

Pol. Maj. Gen. Jirasan Keawsaengek, deputy head of the Metropolitan Police, and Pol. Maj. Gen. Thirapong Wongratpitak, head of Traffic Police, urged motorists and commuters to avoid certain roads today as protesters have clearly said on social media they are marching from Democracy Monument to the Government House at 2 p.m.

As Ratchadamnoen Klang and Nok roads are a key traffic artery, this protest zone should be avoided from noon onwards.

Routes that may be affected by today’s rally and should be avoided are the following:

  1. Ratchadamnoen Klang Road;
  2. Ratchadamnoen Nok Road;
  3. Din Sor Road;
  4. Tanao Road;
  5. Phitsanulok Road;
  6. Nakhon Sawan Road;
  7. Somdet Phra Pinklao Bridge.

Recommended routes to take in order to avoid traffic impacts.

From Bangkok to Thonburi side

  1. Yommarat Express – Sawankhalok Road – Ratchawithi Road – Krungthon Bridge (Sang Hi);
  2. Rama 6 Road – Rama I Road – Phadung Canal Road -Yaowarat Road – Chakkrawat Road – Phra Pokklao Bridge;
  3. Rama  4 Road – Yaowarat Road – Chakkrawat Road – Phra Pokklao Bridge;
  4. Rama 4 Road – South Sathorn Road – Taksin Bridge.

From Thonburi side to the Bangkok:

  1. Borommaratchachonnani Elevated Highway- Si Rat Expressway – go to Chaengwattana or Chatuchak;
  2. Borommaratchachonnani Elevated Highway- Sirindhorn exit – Krungthon Bridge (Sang Hi) – Ratchawithi Road – Rama 6 Road;
  3. Rama 8 Bridge – Samsen Road – Sang Hi Intersection – Sukhothai Road;
  4. Phra Pok Klao Bridge – Chakphet Road – Mahachai Road – Sam Yot Intersection – Charoen Krung Road – Rama 4 Road;
  5. Phra Pok Klao Bridge – Chakphet Road – Mahachai Road – Sam Yot Intersection – Charoen Krung Road – S.A.B. Intersection – Worachak Road – Bamrung Muang Road – Rama 1 Road;
  6. Phutthayod Fah Bridge – Chakphet Road – Atsadang Road – Bamrung Muang Road – Rama 1 Road;
  7. Taksin Bridge – North Sathorn Road – Rama 4 Road.


Top: A protest at Democracy Monument. Thai headline says, “Walk through the Sky V2.0.” Photo: Sanook.com

Home Page: Nakhon Ratchasima protesters walking to the  Democracy Monument last Sunday (March 7). Photos: Thai Rath


Leave a Reply